Welcome to my cabbage patch…

Wednesday August 14th

9st 6lbs

DAY 4: VEGETABLES & POTATO:

1-2 copydscf4234 copyDSCF4248 copy4

I’m really happy with the difference in definition that I can see after just three days of cleansing. Whilst I don’t believe in rapid fat-loss, I do think these detoxes can really help with cleaning out the system which will shift a lot of the bloat that we build up and carry around with us. Everything just looks that little bit firmer and tighter. That’s why I think that when done properly and healthily (eating plenty of good, clean food rather than trying to slash calories) these detoxes can have their place as a ‘kickstart’ to healthier eating.

Having said that, today is vegetable day which has got to be my least favourite day of all… time to suck it up.

I started off the day with a big plate of chopped tomatoes.

DSCF4282

– Tomatoes sprinkled with sea salt, parsley and balsamic vinegar (160 cals)

.

After a long walk (about 90mins) in the sunshine I had a lunch of roasted veg with balsamic vinegar and mustard. Later in the afternoon I had another plate of the same veggies.

DSCF4283DSCF4283

– 2 portions of vegetables roasted in low-cal cooking spray and served with balsamic vinegar and mustard:

  • 1 potato
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 large red pepper
  • 4 carrots
  • 1/2 aubergine

(= 600 cals in total)

.

In the afternoon I felt like I wanted to get a workout in but I was still feeling very sore from yesterday’s P90X Plyo session and just generally a little low on energy. SO in the interest of building back up to the Insanity workouts but also taking a break from any crazy cardio or leg work, I did the Insanity Abs Dvd. It’s very short (and sharp!) with a super-quick but intense warm-up and then mat work. It’s the perfect workout for days like these as it’s achievable even when you aren’t feeling 100% but is still very tough on the abs so you don’t feel like you’re wasting your time or just going through the motions.

view of tremezzoimages (6)

– WORKOUT: 

  • WALK, Including steep uphill sections (90 mins)
  • INSANITY CARDIO ABS (15 mins)

.

For dinner, I had more tomatoes with balsamic vinegar for a starter and then another plate of roasted veg as as a main. God I’ll be glad when this day is over and done with 😉

DSCF4282DSCF4283

– Tomatoes and balsamic vinegar (160 cals)

– Vegetables roasted in lowcal cooking spray and dressed in balsamic vinegar and mustard:

  • 1/4 aubergine
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 zucchini

            (250 cals)

.

I knew today wasn’t going to be fun… veg only days are rough. Having counted up, I think I only hit about 1100 calories overall which I don’t really feel is enough but I genuinely cannot face another vegetable today. I have felt it though… it’s the first time that I feel tired and lacking in energy. Luckily, tomorrow is protein day (I’m having to switch up some of the days to fit in with what I have in the fridge and when the shops are open this week as it is a long bank holiday in Italy. Thus, fruit and veg combo will be switched to friday!) which should be a whooole lot nicer  and should be a good way to get my energy back up 😀 . I have plenty of cottage cheese, yogurt, milk, eggs, cheese and sliced chicken to carry me through the day.

Time for an early night I think x x

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my cabbage patch…

Leave a Reply

