Biting the bullet…

Sunday August 11th

9st 9.5lbs

Ergh, the weekend always kills my weightloss attempts. Annoying. Anyway I have decided to try a 10-day detoxy cleansy flush whatsit. Now I knoooow, I know; I said no crazy diets but there are 2 things you need to know. First of all this is NOT a starvation programme and second of all… I am weak 😉 . Basically I thought this looked interesting as it doesn’t focus on lowering calories to scary levels but instead relies on eating super cleanly which is a far healthier concept. The first 2 days involve going heavy on the protein and veg and after that you start incorporating fruit on certain days. Yes it does cut out grains which I feel is extreme (and frightens me, I’m not going to lie!) but it’s only for 10 days. I don’t know… we shall see. Anyway i intend to document the whole shebang and see how I get on. Wish me luck 🙂

So…

Day 1: PROTEIN & VEGETABLES:

First things first… bite the bullet… here is my ‘before’ shot:

1` (2)

Aaaand that out of the way, onto breakfast. The programme requires starting the day with an omlette consisting of 3 eggs and lean turkey slices

2013-08-11 11.52.22

– Omlette; 3 eggs and 60g lean turkey slices with Oregano and paprika

.

The rest of the day (and tomorrow) is made of up chicken breast and vegetables so I decided to cook up a huge stirfry of 4 chicken breasts and a load of vegetables with chopped tomatoes and spices. THen I can then just eat it as and when I want.

DSCF4230 DSCF4231

– Stirfry:

  • 1/2 kilo chicken breast
  • 1 aubergine
  • 2 small courgettes
  • 3 onions
  • 3 carrots
  • 2 red peppers
  • 2 tins of chopped tomatoes
  • herbs and spices

.

I had one portion in the afternoon and took another to eat at work.

DSCF4233DSCF4233

.

I’m feeling daunted but also excited by the prospect of this ‘detox’ but I am also keen to stay healthy. I don’t want to fall into any crash diet traps so I want to try and keep my calories levels up at all times. The plan is as follows:

DAY 1: Protein & vegetables; 3-egg omlette with lean turkey for breakfast followed by 2 chicken breasts and vegetables

DAY 2: Protein & vegetables; 3-egg omlette with lean turkey for breakfast followed by 2 chicken breasts and vegetables

DAY 3: Fruits Only; As much raw/cooked fruit as desired. (I intend to feast on watermelon, nectarines, berries and plums)

DAY 4: Vegetables & Potato; As many raw/cooked vegetables as desired plus one large potato roasted with lowcal cooking spray

DAY 5: Fruits & vegetables; As many raw/cooked fruits and vegetables as desired

Day 6: Bananas & Milk; 8 bananas and 1.5l of skimmed milk

Day 7: Prawns & Vegetables; (I will make up another stirfry similar to the one I made today but using prawns rather than chicken)

Day 8: Prawns & Vegetables; (I will make up another stirfry similar to the one I made today but using prawns rather than chicken)

Day 9: Proteins ONLY; 200g cottage cheese, 500g plain yogurt, 1/2litre skimmed milk, 6 eggs, 100g ham, 250g light mozzarella

Day 10: Fruit ONLY; (I will buy a large wedge of Watermelon, 10 peaches, strawberries and a punnet of plums)

.

More than numbers on a scale, I am interested to see whether this will make any significant visible changes to my body. That’s if I can stick to it… it’s nasty 😉

Leave a Reply

